What a Console Actually Costs Per Hour: The September 2026 Price Changes, Converted Into Play Time
Updated September 27, 2026. Every figure below was read on that date from the manufacturer, regulatory or statistical source named at the end of this page. Nothing here is quoted from a retailer listing.
Photo: Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 2.0
The price on the box stopped being the interesting number on September 1
Nintendo published the change itself, months in advance. In a corporate release dated May 8, 2026, the company stated that the suggested retail price of the Nintendo Switch 2 system in the United States would move from 449.99 dollars to 499.99 dollars effective September 1, 2026, with parallel moves in Canada (629.99 to 679.99 Canadian dollars) and Europe (469.99 to 499.99 euros). The same release raised Japanese pricing on the original Switch, the Switch OLED and the Switch Lite effective May 25, 2026, and raised Nintendo Switch Online membership pricing in Japan and South Korea effective July 1, 2026. The reason Nintendo gave, in full, was that the revision came "in light of changes in market conditions, and after considering the global business outlook." There is no cost breakdown behind that sentence, and Nintendo did not publish one.
So the fifty dollars is real, dated and confirmed at source. The question this page is actually about is what fifty dollars is, measured against the thing a console is bought to produce: hours. A price increase is a single event. An hour of play is a repeating unit. Once you divide the first by the second, most of the arguing about hardware pricing turns into arithmetic you can do on the back of a receipt.
Three companies moved hardware prices in thirteen months. Here is the published record.
Only the moves below could be confirmed from the manufacturer's own newsroom. Every dollar figure is a US suggested retail price stated by the company that sets it.
| Announced | Effective | Product | From | To | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 20, 2025 (PlayStation.Blog) | Aug 21, 2025 | PS5 / PS5 Digital / PS5 Pro | not stated in the post | 549.99 / 499.99 / 749.99 | reason given: "a challenging economic environment" |
| May 8, 2026 (Nintendo) | Sept 1, 2026 | Nintendo Switch 2 | 449.99 | 499.99 | +50.00 (+11.1%) |
| Mar 27, 2026 (PlayStation.Blog) | Apr 2, 2026 | PS5 / PS5 Digital / PS5 Pro | 549.99 / 499.99 / 749.99 | 649.99 / 599.99 / 899.99 | +100.00 / +100.00 / +150.00 |
| Jun 25, 2026 (Xbox Wire) | Aug 1, 2026 | Microsoft published a console price update on this date; the page could not be retrieved for this article, so no Xbox figures are quoted here rather than quoting them second hand. | |||
Two things fall out of that table immediately. First, the Switch 2 increase is the smallest of the confirmed moves, in both dollars and percent: Sony raised the base PS5 by 100 dollars in a single step seven months after raising it already, which compounds to a 18.2 percent increase on the figure Sony itself published in August 2025. Second, every stated reason is a sentence about macro conditions, and none of them is a number.
What the original version of this page blamed, and what the federal price data actually shows
This page previously argued that tariffs, oil and interest rates were why a gaming-PC upgrade would cost more. Checked against the Bureau of Labor Statistics release for August 2026 (published September 11, 2026), that framing does not survive in the form it was written.
- Information technology, hardware and services: minus 1.1 percent over twelve months. The broad technology category got cheaper.
- Computers, peripherals, and smart home assistants: plus 8.4 percent. The narrow category that contains the parts you would actually buy for an upgrade rose almost two and a half times faster than the all-items index.
- Video and audio products: plus 1.9 percent.
- All items: plus 3.4 percent (index 334.980, 1982-84 = 100).
- Energy: plus 16.3 percent. Electricity: plus 3.8 percent.
So the "oil" part of the old headline is the part with the biggest number behind it, and it reaches a gamer through the wall socket rather than through the retail price of a graphics card. The tariff part is real but unresolved: a Section 232 proclamation published in the Federal Register on January 20, 2026 imposed a 25 percent ad valorem duty on certain advanced computing chips and certain derivative products effective January 15, 2026, with carve-outs that include non-data-center consumer applications. Whether a finished console or a retail graphics card falls inside or outside those carve-outs is not settled by the text of the proclamation, and this article will not pretend otherwise. The "rates" part has no primary source behind it at all: no BLS, Federal Reserve or manufacturer document found for this rewrite connects the policy rate to console pricing, and the manufacturers who did explain themselves pointed at components and market conditions instead.
Hour zero to hour ten: the part of the money that buys nothing yet
Buy the console and you have spent 499.99 dollars and played nothing. That is the least favourable the arithmetic will ever be, and it is worth stating plainly because it is the state most price arguments are conducted in. At hour one, the hardware has cost 499.99 dollars per hour. At hour ten, 50.00 dollars per hour. Nothing about the machine has changed; only the denominator has.
What is unlocked in those first hours is also the only thing that unlocks once: the hardware itself, the system software, and whatever is in the box. Everything after that is either bought again or billed again.
The ledger by hour played
The table below takes the September 1 price of 499.99 dollars and divides it by cumulative hours. The recurring column is not a guess: it is the published US Nintendo Switch Online individual membership at 19.99 dollars for twelve months, plus electricity at Nintendo's own stated draw of 19 watts in TV mode during active play, priced at the BLS average-price series for electricity of 19.6 cents per kilowatt-hour for August 2026. The hours-to-reach column uses the only federal figure for time spent on games, explained in the next section.
| Cumulative hours | Hardware cost per hour | Electricity for those hours | Years to get there at the federal average | What is still repeating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | $50.00 | $0.04 | 0.04 | nothing yet |
| 100 | $5.00 | $0.37 | 0.44 | first online renewal not yet due |
| 226 (one year) | $2.21 | $0.84 | 1.0 | online membership renews: $19.99 |
| 500 | $1.00 | $1.86 | 2.2 | two renewals paid: $39.98 |
| 1,000 | $0.50 | $3.72 | 4.4 | four renewals paid: $79.96 |
| 2,000 | $0.25 | $7.45 | 8.8 | eight renewals paid: $159.92 |
The arithmetic in that table is mine, from the published inputs: 19 watts for one hour is 0.019 kilowatt-hours, which at 19.6 cents is 0.37 cents of electricity per hour of play. Nintendo separately publishes an estimated annual consumption figure of 14 kilowatt-hours per year for a Wi-Fi-connected system, which at the same rate is 2.74 dollars a year, and 50 kilowatt-hours per year if a wired LAN connection is kept alive in sleep, which is 9.80 dollars a year. Leaving the ethernet awake therefore costs more per year than three and a half times the electricity the console burns while you are actually using it.
The fifty dollars, converted
Here is the number the September 1 change is actually worth. Spread over 1,000 hours, the increase is five cents an hour. Spread over 2,000 hours, two and a half cents. Over the first hundred hours, it is fifty cents an hour, which is the honest way to say that the increase hurts most if you are the sort of buyer who plays a console hard for a season and then stops.
Now put that next to the things that repeat. The online membership at 19.99 dollars a year, spread across 226 hours of play, is 8.8 cents an hour — roughly twenty-four times the electricity, and nearly double the entire hardware price increase on a per-hour basis, every single year. PlayStation Plus Essential at 79.99 dollars for twelve months is 35.4 cents an hour on the same hours. That is the structural point the price headlines miss: the one-time increase is a rounding error next to the subscription, and the subscription is the line nobody writes a headline about because it does not change on a dated Tuesday.
How many hours is realistic, and why the only federal number is not a gaming number
The American Time Use Survey results for 2025, released by BLS on June 25, 2026, put "playing games and computer use for leisure" at an average of 0.62 hours per day across everyone aged 15 and over, up from 25 minutes a day in 2015. For ages 15 to 19 it is 1.5 hours a day, the highest of any age group.
That category is broader than video games. BLS bundles board games, video games, social media and other leisure computer use into the same line, so 0.62 hours a day is a ceiling for gaming, not a measurement of it. Used as a ceiling it is still useful: 0.62 hours a day is 226 hours a year, which is why reaching 1,000 hours on one machine takes about four and a half years at the population average, and why the teenage figure of 1.5 hours a day gets there in under two. If you are in the second group, every per-hour figure in the table above should be divided by roughly 2.4.
Two official electricity prices, and the gap between them
The per-hour electricity above uses 19.6 cents per kilowatt-hour, the BLS average price series for US city average electricity in August 2026. The Energy Information Administration's Electricity Monthly Update, in its release dated September 24, 2026, gives the US residential average as 18.31 cents per kilowatt-hour for July 2026, up 4.9 percent year over year. Those two numbers are 1.29 cents apart and both are correct: EIA divides total utility-reported residential revenue by total residential sales nationwide, while the BLS series is a sampled urban price for a consumer basket. Neither is the price on your bill.
The practical consequence is small and worth knowing anyway. Across 1,000 hours of play the two series differ by 24 cents. If a calculation's answer changes depending on which of those you pick, the calculation was never load-bearing. Errors that size belong in the same bucket as the cost of leaving the console in sleep for a year, and the honest place to spend attention is the subscription line, which is two orders of magnitude larger.
Three things the manufacturers do not publish
Three gaps are worth naming, because their absence shapes what anyone can honestly claim. Sony does not publish a rated power draw for the PS5 or PS5 Pro on its consumer pages, so no per-hour electricity figure for a PlayStation appears above. Microsoft publishes EcoProfile documents for the Xbox Series S and X, but they could not be retrieved for this article, and Microsoft has not disclosed Xbox hardware unit sales since 2021, so no install-base comparison is offered either. Nintendo confirmed the console price revision but published no separate suggested price for Switch 2 bundles, and gave no component-level explanation for the increase.
Where the arithmetic actually points
Reading only the published figures, the decision that moves the most money is not which console to buy at which price, but whether the recurring line gets paid in years you barely play. A 50 dollar hardware increase is permanent and small. A 19.99 or 79.99 dollar annual membership is renewable and, at the population-average play rate, larger per hour than the increase that generated all the headlines. If someone were choosing today on the numbers alone, the defensible order of operations would be: settle the honest hours estimate first, let that figure decide whether the hardware is a 50 cent or a 5 dollar per hour purchase, and only then decide whether the subscription earns its 8.8 cents an hour in the specific months it is actually used. Buying at a discount and then auto-renewing through a year with 30 hours in it reverses any saving the purchase price produced.
Four numbers to write down before the next price revision
- Your real hours. Not the federal average. Most platforms report lifetime play time per title; add the top five and divide by the months you have owned the machine.
- Cost per hour at your rate, which is the purchase price divided by hours already played. Re-check it once a year; it is the only figure that improves by itself.
- Total subscription paid to date. Twelve-month memberships are easy to lose track of, and after five years the online membership on a Switch 2 has cost a fifth of the console.
- Annual kilowatt-hours, from the manufacturer's own specification if it publishes one — 14 kWh a year on Wi-Fi, 50 kWh with a wired connection kept awake in sleep, per Nintendo. Multiply by the rate on your own bill, not by a national average.
Tip: Storage is the one Switch 2 accessory the hours actually force on you, since the system requires the faster card format rather than a standard one. If you are costing out a long-life setup, a microSD Express card belongs in the same ledger as the console itself. (These are Amazon Associate links — we may earn a small commission on qualifying purchases.)
Photo: Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0
Related on this site
Sources checked on September 27, 2026
- Nintendo Co., Ltd., Notice Regarding Price Revisions for Nintendo Products and Services, May 8, 2026 — US, Canadian, European and Japanese figures and effective dates.
- Nintendo of America, Price Revision for Nintendo Switch 2 System.
- Nintendo, Nintendo Switch 2 technical specifications — 19 W in TV mode, 8 W at the HOME menu, 0.5 W in Wi-Fi sleep, 5 W with wired LAN maintained, and the 14 and 50 kilowatt-hour annual estimates.
- Nintendo, Nintendo Switch Online membership pricing — 19.99 dollars for a twelve-month individual membership.
- Sony Interactive Entertainment, New price changes for PS5, PS5 Pro and PlayStation Portal, March 27, 2026, and PlayStation 5 price changes in the U.S., August 20, 2025.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, Consumer Price Index, August 2026, released September 11, 2026 — Table 2 unadjusted twelve-month changes.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, American Time Use Survey, 2025 results, released June 25, 2026 — 0.62 hours per day, and 1.5 hours for ages 15 to 19.
- Energy Information Administration, Electricity Monthly Update, released September 24, 2026 — 18.31 cents per kilowatt-hour, US residential average, July 2026.
- Federal Register, Adjusting Imports of Semiconductors, Semiconductor Manufacturing Equipment, and Their Derivative Products, January 20, 2026 — the 25 percent duty and its carve-outs.
This page is a summary of published manufacturer and government figures, written by no one holding a financial credential, and it is not personalised financial advice. Prices, duties and electricity rates change; every figure carries the date it was read.

Comments
Post a Comment